A New Wave…time for a change

The past 2 weeks have been a whirlwind for me…both exciting, yet stressful at the same time. Have you ever had a moment in your life…a day, or perhaps one of those weeks or months, where so much happens all at the exact same time that you feel you either want to escape to a tropical island where no one can find you or just throw your arms up and scream it all out? Well that was my month of March…but in a good way.

So here’s the deal…I was presented with the opportunity to join a large, worldwide advertising agency. I went to MSU for advertising/marketing and design and if you asked me what I want to be doing in five years I’d say, without a doubt, something in advertising. SO basically, this was my chance to start building, what I hope to be, a successful career in the industry.

If this is something I want to be doing, then why was I so stressed out about making this decision? Well, because it came down to the question of “I’m happy where I’m at so is it worth the risk to give up my comfortable, current job?” or “Am I willing to take this risk to do what I love?” It all came down to risk. But then again, what kind of life will you lead and what kind of opportunities will you pass up if you don’t take a risk once in awhile. Some of the most successful people in history would have never been able to achieve anything great without taking some risks once in awhile.

After a week of debating and second guessing myself at all hours of the day as to whether I was making the right decision or not, I went with my gut feeling. Advertising is what I WANT to do and I was given this opportunity NOW, so I HAVE to go for it! Want, Now, Have…the key components that helped me make this life changing decision. If you want something in life you have to go for it the moment it happens. You have to take that risk to get to where you want to be in life.

I was lucky and privileged to have been given the opportunity to work as a corporate buyer for my previous company right out of college. I will forever be grateful for the lessons I learned and experiences I was given as well as the amazing and intelligent people I was able to work with and learn from. It was the stepping stone I needed to get to where I am about to go in a few short days. I am excited to take this next step in my life and career and look forward to all the opportunities that will be coming my way. Yes, I’m nervous and a bit scared, but like I said, life is all about the risk.

When a new wave comes your way, ride it!

One thought on “A New Wave…time for a change

Leave a Reply

